Krakow, Poland

As a Polish teenager, ironically I was only exposed to Krakow whilst on holiday with my friends last year. I have lived outside of Poland for as long as I can remember (13 out of my 19 years) and although I will always feel a sense of ‘home’ when I am traveling around the motherland, I do feel excited to experience Polish culture and life itself- because it has always been somewhat of a mystery to me.

My family is not your typical Polish family I would say. Most of my aunts/uncles/cousins live in the States or France, and so we’re all very much an international bunch of people. However, we love guesting people in our homes and feeding them enormous amounts of food, so you could say that we did take the best out of the Polish way of life and put it into our own mixes.

Whenever I am in Poland I see a lot of things I don’t like. The country has huge amounts of homophobes and racists. People are simple. Yet Krakow showed me how things are changing. We are moving into the right direction in terms of cultural experiences and openness. The bitterness of the older generations is fading as the country is no longer in threats, and the scare of the past wars leaves scars but ones that have had the time to heal. Being in Krakow I met tourists who fell in love with the “Polish hospitality”, students at the local University and many others and they enlightened me that ‘hey as a nation, we’re not that bad’. We do have our problems. But there is nothing quite like having someone guest you in Poland. If you have never been, I truly urge you to experience the city’s splendors. The atmosphere during the summery months of May through to July will keep you buzzing with happiness.

I leave you with some photos that I took, whilst on my trip.

 

One thought on “Krakow, Poland

Leave a Reply

